5 Of The Best Players To Have Won The World Cup Twice

There’s now just two days to go, with the excitement levels over the 2014 World Cup reaching new heights.

To celebrate, we’re taking a look at the players who can proudly boast not one, but two World Cup winners’ medals in their trophy cabinets.

If you count the three-time winner Pele there are 21 men in all, and here are five of the best:


Giuseppe Meazza (Italy), 1934 and 1938

A forward so good they named one of Italy’s premier stadiums after him, Giuseppe Meazza was the goalscoring inspiration behind Italy winning back-to-back tournaments in 1934 and 1938.

A regular goalscorer for Inter Milan throughout the late 1920s and throughout the 30s, Meazza won the Golden Ball award at the 1934 tournament in Italy, and was the captain and a crucial figure as the Italians regained the tournament in France four years later.

In 2010, The Times voted him as number four in the list of the World Cup’s 10 greatest players of all time, whilst the official name for Milan’s San Siro remains the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza.


Mario Zagallo (Brazil), 1958 and 1962

Winger Mario Zagallo didn’t just settle for being a part of the Brazil team which won the World Cup in both 1958 and 1962 – scoring in the final of the former and group stages of the latter – but then he took over as manager and masterminded the wonderful team of 1970 which many still regard as the best ever.

Twenty-four years later, and with ‘lucky charm’ Zagallo as assistant manager to Carlos Alberto Parreira, Brazil won the World Cup again, meaning that Zagallo had been involved in all four tournament victories they’d achieved up to that point.


Vava (Brazil), 1958 and 1962

Brazilian Vava is part of a very special trivia question, as he’s one of only four men to score goals in two different World Cup finals.

The forward found the net in both the 1958 and 1962 finals – earning the Golden Boot at the latter tournament – to join Pele, Paul Breitner and Zinedine Zidane as part of that very exclusive club.

Overall, he scored 15 goals in 20 appearances for his country.



Daniel Passarella (Argentina), 1978 and 1986

Centre-back and captain Daniel Passarella was the rock on which Argentina’s 1978 success in their own World Cup was built upon.

He scored one goal at the tournament as the side inspired very much by Mario Kempes beat the Netherlands 3-1 after extra-time in the final, but eight years later it was Diego Maradona who had replaced both Passarella and Kempes as the captain and inspiration.

Passarella helped Argentina qualify for the tournament in Mexico, but rows with Maradona and coach Carlos Bilardo meant that he was left on the sidelines for the tournament, retiring from international football shortly afterwards.


Cafu (Brazil), 1994 and 2002

The most capped Brazilian footballer in history, full-back Cafu is the only player to have appeared in three different World Cup finals, whilst he made a record 21 appearances at the biggest tournament on earth – emerging on the winning side in 16 of them.

The right-back came on for the injured Jorginho midway through the first half of the final against Italy in Pasadena in 1994, and stayed in the first-team for the following 12 years.

He was a vital part of the side which reached the final against France in 1998, whilst four years later he captained the team which beat Germany 2-0 in the final in Yokohama. He made his last World Cup appearance as Brazil lost to France in the quarter-finals in 2006.


Can the likes of Iker Casillas, Xavi and Andres Iniesta add themselves to this list in Brazil? Spain are the 7.50 joint-third favourites