The Top 5 World Cup Winning Captains

Our World Cup countdown continues, and we are now just six days away from the opening match between Brazil and Croatia in Sao Paulo.

It was England’s iconic No. 6, captain Bobby Moore, who lifted the famous trophy at Wembley back in 1966, and so today we’re looking at the famous leaders of men who guiding their teams to ultimate footballing glory.

Here are the top five World Cup-winning captains:


5. Fabio Cannavaro, Italy 2006

An inspirational figure in Italy’s somewhat unlikely triumph at the 2006 World Cup, everything came together for defender Fabio Cannavaro in Germany.

The centre-back won his 100th cap in the final against France, where his side conceded a goal for just the second time in the tournament on the way to their penalty shootout victory over France.

Cannavaro won both the Ballon d’Or and the FIFA World Player of the Year Award in 2006, whilst his performances also earned him a move to Real Madrid, where he won back-to-back La Liga crowns in his first two seasons.


4. Carlos Alberto, Brazil 1970

What better way to round off one of the most stylish World Cup victories of all time than with what is widely regarded as the greatest World Cup goal of all time?

Full-back Carlos Alberto finished a flowing Brazilian move to score his side’s fourth goal in the final against Italy in Mexico City in 1970, with the captain driving home Pele’s square pass and putting the gloss on the terrific 4-1 victory with his only strike of the tournament.


3. Bobby Moore, England 1966

The iconic Bobby Moore very nearly missed out on captaining England during the summer which would define his life, as Sir Alf Ramsey had to tell him to renew his contract with West Ham otherwise he’d have been ineligible to play for his country.

Moore did just that, and was the inspiration behind England’s success at their own World Cup in 1966, with the image of him lifting the trophy at Wembley following the 4-2 win over West Germany still burning bright today.


2. Franz Beckenbauer, West Germany 1974

Franz Beckenbauer had scored four goals for West Germany at the 1966 World Cup, and was a key player as the side reached the last four in Mexico four years later, where he broke his clavicle in the semi-final yet still carried on playing in a sling.

His bravery would be rewarded in West Germany’s home World Cup in 1974, when the sweeper captained his side to a 2-1 victory over Johan Cruyff’s Netherlands in the final, with Beckenbauer becoming the first captain to lift the new modern World Cup trophy we know today.


1. Diego Maradona, Argentina 1986

Never has a captain done so much to win his team a World Cup as Diego Maradona did in Mexico in 1986.

The skipper scored in the group stages against Italy, before the game that would come to define that would come to define his football career against England in Mexico City in the quarter-finals, where he scored the opening goal with his hand before adding the second with one of the greatest individual goals the tournament has ever seen.

Maradona scored twice more in the semi-final against Belgum, before inspiring his side to a 3-2 win over West Germany in an absorbing final – with Maradona’s superb pass setting up Jorge Burruchaga for the winner six minutes from time.


Who will lead their team to victory in Brazil? Latest odds here!