The Open In Numbers

Golf: it's all about numbers. Well, and golf clubs and balls. But mainly numbers.

And as it's not long until the Open kicks off at Royal Lytham and St Annes course and the north west will be filled with some of the golfing world's greats, we look at some of the numbers that make up Britain's biggest golf tournament.

46 The oldest winner of the Open was Thomas Mitchell Morris Sr (AKA Old Tom Morris) at 46 years and 99 days in 1867.

17 Tom Morris (son of Old Tom Morris) was the youngest ever winner at just 17 years and 181 days in 1868.

6 The most victories by one man, a Mr Harry Vardon (1896, 1898, 1899, 1903, 1911, 1914).

4 The most consecutive victories: by that man Young Tom Morris (1868, 1869, 1870, 1872 – there was no championship in 1871).

267 The lowest absolute 72-hole score was 267, scored by Greg Norman in 1993. (66-68-69-64).

-19 The lowest 72-hole score in relation to par was -19 by Tiger Woods in 2000. His score was 67-66-67-69 (269) and remains a record for all major championships.

Incidentally, Norman's 1993 score was −13 but par at Royal St George's, the site of the 1993 Open, was 70  as opposed to the par 72 of The Old Course at St Andrews, the 2000 site. The to-par record broken by Woods was not held by Norman, but by Nick Faldo, who shot −18 at The Old Course in 1990.

13 The greatest victory margin from our friend Old Tom Morris, 1862. This remained a record for all majors until 2000, when Woods won the US Open by 15 strokes at Pebble Beach. However, Old Tom's 13-stroke margin was achieved over just 36 holes.

63 The lowest 18-hole score was recorded by a number of golfers: Mark Hayes during the second round in 1977; Isao Aoki during the third round in 1980; Greg Norman, second round, 1986; Paul Broadhurst during the third round, 1990; Jodie Mudd, fourth round in 1991; Nick Faldo, second round, 1993; Payne Stewart, fourth round in 1993; Rory McIlroy, first round, 2010.

-9 The lowest 18-hole score in relation to par is shared by Paul Broadhurst and Rory McIlroy.

7,118 The total number of yards on this year's course: 3,437 on the first 9, 3,681 on the second.

17 The number of past champions in 2012 (Darren Clarke, Louis Oosthuizen, Stewart Cink, Pádraig Harrington, Tiger Woods, Todd Hamilton, Ben Curtis, Ernie Els, David Duval, Paul Lawrie, Mark O'Meara, Justin Leonard ,Tom Lehman, John Daly, Mark Calcavecchia, Sandy Lyle, Tom Watson).